The Lectionary 

  Open Bible


The Revised Common Lectionary (RCL),  which is used by a variety of denominations, provides a three-year cycle for all the Scripture readings which we hear in Sunday morning worship.  Four readings are suggested for each particular Sunday and Festival throughout the entire liturgical year, and include a Gospel reading, an Old Testament reading, a New Testament reading, and a reading from the Psalms.



Each year of the RCL centers on one of the synoptic Gospels.  Selections from the Gospel of John are used in each year during the major seasons of Christmas, Lent, and Easter.


Year A focus on the Gospel of Matthew.  The semicontinuous Old Testament readings focus on major Genesis narratives, the covenant with Moses, and the establishment of Israel in the promised land. The New Testament readings are from Romans, Philippians, and 1 Thessalonians.


Year B focuses on the Gospel of Mark with more selections from the gospel of John than any other year.  The semicontinuous readings from the Old Testament focus on the covenant of David and Wisdom literature. The New Testament readings are from 1 and 2 Corinthians, Ephesians, James, and Hebrews.


Year C focuses on the Gospel of Luke.  The semicontinuous Old Testament readings are of prophetic proclamation chosen in chronological order and highlighting Jeremiah.  The New Testament readings are chosen mainly from Galatians, Colossians, 1 and 2 Timothy, and 2 Thessalonians.


In addition to the Sunday readings, there is also a Daily Lectionary which provides scripture readings for every single day throughout the year.


Click here for a link to the Revised Common Lectionary.



Our Mission: "We grow in Christ to serve others.”
Facebook Twitter
21315 Bat Cave Road Garden Ridge, Texas 78266 USA
Contact Us
8:00 am - 4:00 pm